The Bologna Blog

a blog about all of the "bologna" in our minds that lead to writing.

What it’s like to have a best friend who’s an English Major

leave a comment »

As a writing arts major, I can say this: I can’t spell.

Whatever. I know I can’t spell, and I’m doing the best I can to make sure that people can still read what I can write. And, no, my homeschooling childhood has nothing to do with this particular shortcoming. It’s mostly my inability to retain things like i before e and words like supercalifragiliciousexpealidocious. Is there even a right spelling of that word?

Of course, I have accepted this shortcoming. I mean, that’s what spell check is for, right? Unfortunately, one of my best friends has NOT accepted this. Why? Because she’s an English Major.

I have nothing against English Majors. They seem to be great people, even if they are so nerdy that they can tell you the difference between literature and novels, or why we should all learn important life lessons from the Producers and how their idea of light reading is all of Shakespeares plays. But the problem I have with them is when they start to read my writers.

It’s like I’m back in high school, with pen markings all over my writing. But the worst part is: it’s not even about the writing.

No, it’s about the spelling. And the grammar. Like the fact that apparently I still write in fragments or don’t have commas in the right place and somehow managed to spell wierd wrong. Again.

And next time I give her something I wrote, it’s going to happen all over again, the next time I give her something. It’s probably my fault, but I can’t help having an innate sense that she’s going to finally get that I don’t need more grammar mistakes pointed out–after all, I went through high school like everyone else–I just want to know whether or not the plot works or if my characters are believable. But she can’t help being an English Major any more than I can help writing.

Don’t even get me started on what happens when you tell a math major you’re failing an elementary statistics course…

Written by iread2manybooks

December 8, 2009 at 4:13 AM

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

