The Bologna Blog

a blog about all of the "bologna" in our minds that lead to writing.

Twilight Times

leave a comment »

Okay, so I’m going to be ‘brave’ and talk about a topic that is pretty widely debated, and not really in a good way, around colleges and high schools. Of course, some people like it, but unfortunately for me, not many people I know like Twilight, New Moon, Eclipse, and Breaking Dawn. And why not? The idea of vampires and werewolfs–I’m sorry, ShapeShifters–is one that many writers tend to go for, if you look in the young adult fiction section of Barnes and Noble. So why do I know people who claim that Twilight is a cult? I mean, if you go to Australia, you can study the Way of the Jedi. How is that any different?

I’m sure that most people are well aware of the arguments between twilighters and non-twilighters, since this series has blow up to be almost–almost–as big as the Harry Potter series. Lucky Stephanie Meyer. So I’m not going to waste your time and talk about the arguments. No, I’m trying to point out that arguing about it is completely pointless. If there’s one thing I learned from being a catholic in a Baptist School for four years, it’s that arguing with someone who has a closed mind isn’t going to do squat.

And why does it matter is people are getting fangs or trying to be paler? Is this different than when my friends planned a Harry Potter party, complete with Butterbeer and Ice Mice? Or the fact that I have two lightsabers, all the Star Wars movies and the books in my room, and a clone trooper picture on my wall? So, please, what makes Twilight different? Are guys threatened by Edward, a fictional character? Are girls killing themselves because Jacob isn’t real? No, people are just acting the way we always act when there’s a new star and a new plot to follow. It’ll die down.

So, please, no more twilight arguments. And no more judging people who read them–if I hear one more “You’re one of them?” while I’m trying to finish Breaking Dawn, I might hurl the book at them. And that’s no joke, not when 754 pages are coming your way.

Written by iread2manybooks

December 8, 2009 at 4:11 AM

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

