The Bologna Blog

a blog about all of the "bologna" in our minds that lead to writing.

Web Ways to Watch the World

with one comment

The world wide web is something that still astounds me even to this day. Even though it wasn’t really around when I was really little, by the time I went to High School, it was natural for me to be able to click a couple of buttons and connect with my friends, or find most of the information I need without ever going to my library (of course, most teachers still required it, but that’s not the point) and look up lots of useless things, like myspace or xanga webpages, pictures that people had posted, and pretty much whatever I wanted. Now, as a Sophomore in college, I can live off my computer–as long as I rest and eat. It has all the information I need, I could go to school or even get a job, all on my computer, and mostly through the web, or internet.

Why do I take this for granted? I used to be a firm believer in the internet as a bad thing, and that we shouldn’t be using it for entertainment when we have books and the outdoors, but now I find myself spending a lot more time looking up my favorite TV shows so that I don’t have to actually sit down and beg my mom for the channels and become a couch potato. No, instead I’ve become a bed potato–spending all my time in my room on my computer. I feel like I get more things done, but in reality I don’t get anything done besides making sure I’ve seen every episode of scrubs, psych, and glee.

So what’s the point of the web? There is no way to tell, except that no matter what people say, the internet is something that’s going to keep developing whether we like it or not, so we might as well accept it.

And ruin our computers so that we don’t become any kind of potato.

Written by iread2manybooks

November 19, 2009 at 11:55 AM

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You raise a very interesting and important question: what is the point of the web? It is much much like, Why do we breath air? and Why do I eat food? While I think of my answer, I’ve posed the question to the Twittersphere (http://twitter.com/billwolff/statuses/6243358309). What is your answer?

    BW

    December 2, 2009 at 12:24 AM


Leave a Reply

