The Bologna Blog

a blog about all of the "bologna" in our minds that lead to writing.

Twitter Stalking

with one comment

I figured if I was going to stalk someone on twitter, I was going to either stalk someone I knew really really well or stalk a celebrity, someone who I don’t know really well at all and will never know, or someone I’m really close to and already know. But instead of doing one or the other, I decided to do both.

So, first the celebrity–kind of. It’s Chris Colfer, from the new show on FOX, Glee. I really like the show, and the music is fantastic, and Chris plays one of my favorite characters, Kurt, the gay boy in glee club. However, for me following him on Twitter, it seems that he’s not at all like the Kurt in the show. Of course, I can’t tell much of his personality from single random sentences over the three months I had the patience to read, but from what I can tell, he’s as nice as he is on the show, not really used to being famous, and sounds like he’d be a fun person to get to know. But I don’t think that you can tell someone’s personality from a website. Unless you know them already.

Which leads me to the other person I was twitter stalking. Melanie, my best friend. She hasn’t written much, even though she’s had her twitter account since July. That’s okay; she’s more of a facebook fan. From the little I can tell about her twitter, it seems to be what it is for most people–a way to get out her random thoughts. Like grapples vs banapples. Interesting, but typical for the girl who likes to draw cartoons and watches TV shows with serial killers.

And on a totally unrelated topic, yes I did say twitter stalking. I feel that’s the best way to describe finding someone on a website and reading back over their twitter life for months. I mean, isn’t that what stalkers do? Find out things about people from their websites?

And isn’t that what this assignment was all about?

Written by iread2manybooks

November 19, 2009 at 10:38 AM

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Actually, the assignment was to analyze the list of people who they follow, though you were more than welcome read through their past tweets.

    Also, one must begin to distinguish between the words “stalk” and “follow.” The differences are in the intent of the person who is learning information. . . .

    BW

    December 2, 2009 at 12:42 AM


Leave a Reply

