The Bologna Blog

a blog about all of the "bologna" in our minds that lead to writing.

More Twitter ranting…

with one comment

I recently read the article “How Twitter Will Change the World” and as much as I want to disagree with the title, I can’t. It’s the kind of situation similar to when a tidal wave is about to collapse over your entire town. You want to stop it with every ounce of power you have, but at the same time you know there’s not a goddamn thing you can do about it. I don’t exactly consider myself as an anti-twitter guy, but I’m not really pro for it either. Regardless, I can’t prevent the effects it will have on the world in the near future.

First off, I can fully relate to the entire first paragraph… particularly the sentence, “What we can all say about Twitter is that it makes a terrible first impression.” I felt the same way when I first started an account because similar to what other authors in this blog group have already stated, why do I care what people are doing 30 times a day? And how am I going to benefit off of following 30 people while having an equal amount following me?

I can see where Michelle is coming from when she says all of her favorite authors, singers, and celebrities have a Twitter account. In a sense, I guess this is cool but I don’t see how knowing they have a Twitter will improve the way you look at them. They’re still the same people, with or without one. There are many figures who I idolize, but I just can’t bring myself interested enough to follow them on Twitter. The reason why is because there’s just somthing about this whole networking site that… discourages me.

I understand that similar to Facebook, Twitter can be a good way of making yourself known if you’re trying to promote or support something such as a cause or whatever. But if I were one of the figures who are idolized, I probably wouldn’t care much for Twitter at all. Once again, it’s all because of that weird something about the site that gives me second thoughts.

I just feel that if you’re going to follow someone, do it by heart… not by Twitter.

Written by halld76

November 18, 2009 at 2:56 AM

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is an interesting, thoughtful post, one that is encouraging because I see you really trying to figure out just what is going on with this whole Twitter thing. I’m particularly intrigued by your italicized sentence, “it’s all because of that weird something about the site that gives me second thoughts.” Are you describing the layout of the Twitter web site itself that is giving you second thoughts, the way that followers are found and engaged, how people discuss things, or something else (or all of the above and more)? On your Twitter page I can see you struggling with coming to an understanding of what to do and say in this space. There are the somewhat off-putting tweets but some others, like your questions about blog comments, that are engaging with the writing space in ways that are quite useful. The challenge for writers everywhere is to think about how new writing spaces like Twitter and Facebook changes our understand of a text and, then, how we can use what we think to transform our writing in whatever medium we choose.

    BW

    December 2, 2009 at 12:35 AM


Leave a Reply

