The Bologna Blog

a blog about all of the "bologna" in our minds that lead to writing.

It’s Been Interesting

with one comment

As the semester winds down, I sit here procrastinating through production oddly enough. I should really be tending to one of my three gigantic projects / portfolios that are due next week. I should be getting more things accomplished around the house with my vacation time from work. But I counted my blogs and I fell short by one somehow so I am tending to a more immediate assignment.

I’ve never written so much in my life over the course of one semester. Three writing intensive classes are not to be taken lightly with a full work schedule. I haven’t take a single test all semester, but I oddly feel more drained than the days of Bio 101 and Abnormal Psych.

But there is a lesson to take in all that we do in life.

As I tend to do with all major transitions in life paths, I dove in head first with the first stretch of my Writing Arts major.

I can’t swim for the life of me, but I always dive in and see how long I can stay afloat before I start to sink and my lungs fill up with water. I usually stop treading water and wait for the better option to leap from it’s tall white chair to come save my stupid ass.

This time out, I feel like I’m getting the hang of this floating thing. If I survived this semester, I can survive the rest. Granted, I may ease my foot off the metaphorical gas pedal, but at the end of the day I’m still driving the car.

This semester, and this module specifically, have provided me with an opportunity to write for an audience outside of myself and my professors. By expanding the audience to a more public forum, I have started to become more comfortable with expressing my thought with my words.

Hopefully this semester has given fellow students something to take with them in the sense of learning something about themselves. College doesn’t just have to be about learning what the books and teachers tell you to learn. If you allow it to, it can provide an excellent opportunity to learn something about yourself when you look back and reflect on your experiences.

Written by cor24leone

December 9, 2009 at 10:14 AM

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have soo much reflecting and learning to do…

    good luck!

    blueberrymuffins

    December 9, 2009 at 11:26 AM


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

